© 2010 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/15/10 4:54 PM EST

Walker, Tabata receive ROY votes

PITTSBURGH -- Buster Posey was named the National League's Rookie of the Year on Monday, coming in ahead of Atlanta's Jason Heyward. Two Pirates -- Neil Walker and Jose Tabata -- each received one vote in the final tally.

Thirty-two members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America voted on the award, with each member ranking their top three choices. Walker garnered a second-place vote, while Tabata earned a third-place vote.

How the Baseball Writers' Association of America voted for the National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award.
Player 1st 2nd 3rd Pts
Buster Posey, SF 20 9 2 129
Jason Heyward, ATL 9 20 2 107
Jaime Garcia, STL 1 1 16 24
Gaby Sanchez, FLA 2 1 5 18
Neil Walker, PIT 1 3
Starlin Castro, CHC 3 3
Ike Davis, NYM 2 2
Jose Tabata, PIT 1 1
Jonny Venters, ATL 1 1
Posey, who helped lead the Giants to a world championship, received 20 first-place votes and a total of 129 points. Heyward was given a first-place vote by nine writers and finished with 107 points. He was followed by Cardinals pitcher Jaime Garcia and Florida's Gaby Sanchez.

With his second-place vote, Walker finished tied for fifth with Chicago infielder Starlin Castro. Both Tabata and Atlanta reliever Jonny Venters received one third-place vote to finish tied for eighth.

Walker ended the year with a .296 batting average, .349 on-base percentage, 29 doubles, 12 homers and 66 RBIs in 426 at-bats. Tabata, the Pirates' everyday left fielder, batted .299 with a .346 on-base percentage, 21 doubles, four homers, 35 RBIs and 19 stolen bases.

Jenifer Langosch is a reporter for MLB.com. Read her blog, By Gosh, It's Langosch, and follow her on Twitter @LangoschMLB. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.