© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

6/15/2014 9:24 P.M. ET

McCutchen, Walker move up in All-Star voting

Outfielder approaches Puig for top spot in outfield following big week

Andrew McCutchen's heat in the batter's box has carried over to the ballot box.

The Pirates center fielder, riding one of the most torrid two-week stretches of his career, jumped into position to start next month's All-Star Game, according to the latest voting results, announced Sunday night.

McCutchen not only jumped two spots -- from fourth to second -- among National League outfielders, but with 1,727,534 votes is on the heels of the Dodgers' Yasiel Puig, who held onto the top spot with 1,942,701 votes.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at MLB.com and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 11:59 p.m. ET. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your MLB.com account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an MLB.com account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free MLB.com account.

In the vote totals announced last week, McCutchen had trailed third-place Carlos Gomez of the Brewers by 1,683 votes. He now moved nearly 100,000 ballots ahead of the Milwaukee center fielder. That's what happens when you have a week in which you hit .483 and slug 1.043.

A 14-for-29 week that included 13 RBIs in seven games also pumped McCutchen's June line to .415, with 16 of his 22 hits going for extra bases.

Despite starting the week with an appendectomy that landed him on the disabled list, second baseman Neil Walker also made a big move at the ballot box. With 997,347 votes, Walker leapfrogged over the Dodgers' Dee Gordon into second place behind Chase Utley.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on MLB.com. Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at MLB.com via the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy.

MLB.com will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit allstargame.com.

McCutchen would become the first Pirates player voted into the NL's starting lineup since Jason Bay, in 2006. More significantly, perhaps, only six prior Pittsburgh players have ever received that nod from fans, with all of the predecessors also having been outfielders, those in addition to Bay including Barry Bonds (1992-93), Andy Van Slyke (1992-93), Dave Parker (1977-78, 1980-81) and Hall of Famers Roberto Clemente (1972) and Willie Stargell (1971-72).

Tom Singer is a reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog Change for a Nickel. He can also be found on Twitter @Tom_Singer. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.