© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

7/5/2014 6:33 P.M. ET

Call at first stands after Phils challenge in fifth

PITTSBURGH -- The Phillies lost a replay challenge in the fifth inning Saturday at PNC Park.

Trailing, 3-1, they thought Pirates pitcher Edinson Volquez did not touch first base with his foot on a ground ball Jimmy Rollins hit to first baseman Ike Davis.

Davis flipped the ball to Volquez for the out, but Rollins immediately reacted, contending that Volquez did not touch the base.

Umpires said the play stood as called, meaning there was not enough evidence to overturn it.

Earlier, replay initiated by the umpires was used on the play that put the Phillies on the board. A crew chief review confirmed Cody Asche's solo home run in the fourth inning. Asche's ball just cleared PNC Park's 21-foot wall in right-center field. The ball landed in the first row, and replay confirmed there was no fan interference on the play.

Todd Zolecki is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.