7/6/2014 5:22 P.M. ET
Crew review rules interference on Cutch's 3B
By Stephen Pianovich / MLB.com
PITTSBURGH -- A call in the eighth inning of the Pirates' 6-2 victory over the Phillies on Sunday underwent a crew-chief review, yet the new ruling did not change the result of the original play.
Andrew McCutchen drove a ball to the fence in right-center field and ended up on third with a run-scoring triple. The umpires looked at the play, ruling that a fan did reach over the wall and touch the ball, but they still awarded McCutchen third base, ruling that the outcome of the play was not affected by the interference.
Regardless, it was McCutchen's seventh hit and fifth RBI of the three-game series with Philadelphia. It ignited a three-run inning to give the Pirates a 6-2 lead.
Stephen Pianovich is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.