To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

09/06/2006 2:55 PM ET
Fans to help select baseball's Man of the Year

NEW YORK -- Fans voting online this week will help select the Major League baseball player whose on-field performance and contributions to his community inspire others to higher levels of achievement. Fan-voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award will be conducted on, the official website of Major League baseball players, through Sunday, September 10.

The Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award is bestowed annually by Major League players, along with nine other PLAYERS CHOICE AWARDS, to honor the players they believe are the best in the game. Players on each of the thirty Major League teams have nominated one teammate as a candidate for the 2006 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award.

Fans now may visit to select their favorite among the nominees. Six finalists chosen by the fans will appear on the Players Choice Awards ballot when all Major Leaguers vote September 12, to select the winner.

Mike Sweeney of the Kansas City Royals was the recipient of the 2005 Man of the Year Award for his on-field leadership and commitment to the Kansas City community. In addition to being a spokesman for the “Enjoy the Game” program, Mike worked closely with the local Boys & Girls Club, the Children’s Mercy Hospital, and the Sweeney Family Foundation. Past winners of the award, named for the legendary baseball union leader, also include Jim Thome, John Smoltz, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa, Eric Davis and Paul Molitor.

The 2006 Players Choice Awards also honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher, and comeback player in each league, as well as the overall Outstanding Player of the Year. Each Players Choice Award winner will designate the charity of his choice to receive a grant from the Major League Baseball Players Trust.

The following players were nominated by their teammates for the 2006 Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award:

Arizona: Tony Clark; Atlanta: John Smoltz; Baltimore: Brian Roberts; Boston: Tim Wakefield; Chicago Cubs: Kerry Wood; Chicago White Sox: Jim Thome; Cincinnati: Ryan Freel; Cleveland: Jake Westbrook; Colorado: Jason Jennings; Detroit: Carlos Guillen; Florida: Dontrelle Willis; Houston: Craig Biggio; Kansas City: Mike Sweeney; Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Tim Salmon; Los Angeles Dodgers: Nomar Garciaparra; Milwaukee: Jeff Cirillo; Minnesota: Brad Radke; New York Mets: Carlos Delgado; New York Yankees: Mike Mussina; Oakland: Barry Zito; Philadelphia: David Dellucci; Pittsburgh: Jason Bay; San Diego: Trevor Hoffman; San Francisco: Mike Matheny; Seattle: Raul Ibanez; St. Louis: Albert Pujols; Tampa Bay: Brian Meadows; Texas; Brad Wilkerson; Toronto: Roy Halladay; Washington: Chad Cordero.